Greetings all!

New writer to CC, introduce yourself here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

mattrwriter

Greetings all!

Post by mattrwriter »

Hello,

I'm new to Constant Content so I thought I'd introduce myself. I've been trying to get started as a writer for a few years now, mainly due to crap jobs and a feeling that I could have some talent as a writer. I've sold the odd thing here and there but have never had the motivation to give it a proper go. I started writing for Demand Media a couple of months ago but pretty quickly got bored with the choice of titles and the rigid format of the articles. I'll stick with it but will probably only bother writing anything for them if something I have knowledge or interest in comes up and am low on inspiration in a spare hour.

Constant Content seems to be much more suited to me. I can write about what I want and then, hopefully, that piece of writing can keep earning money. I've started by going over some old stuff, rewriting it to remove any first person references and submitting. Still waiting for acceptance! I plan to build up a good amount of articles in a few subject areas I'm interested in and then sort of see where my brain takes me in terms of subject matter. I'll see what sells, what I find most inspiring, and go from there.

Any advice gratefully received!

Thanks

Matt
Antonia

Re: Greetings all!

Post by Antonia »

Welcome Matt! You have the right idea in your approach to CC - building up a portfolio, tracking your sales, and modifying your strategy as you go along - all key to success. I would just caution you not to submit too many articles at once until you've had one or two accepted. Once suspended, there's no returning, and the CC guidelines here take a bit of getting used to. If you have any specific questions just ask - the forums are friendly and super helpful.
mattrwriter

Post by mattrwriter »