Technical error -- Text fields escaped with "\" characters

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

thepaintguru

Technical error -- Text fields escaped with "\" characters

Post by thepaintguru »

I'm a new author here, and my first response to a request was somewhat embarrassing because I found that the sample text I had submitted was escaped (a technical term for when special characters such as quotes are proceeded by a \). The article in question is titled "A Buyer's Guide to Netbook Computers". I verified that the original file was not escaped, and went in and deleted the extra backslashes from my sample. What I'm worried about is that, although this is unlikely, the copy of the file you have may somehow have been escaped as well and I can't verify it. I would hate to end up sending a customer something that looked so strange and couldn't be fixed without a full rights license.

This error isn't consistent, my best guess is that it is produced when the page for article submission is reloaded mid way through. For example, if I paste in my description and the like, but then realize I forgot to change the category at the top of the page. As an amateur web developer, I know that PHP (likely the software that runs CC) automatically escapes incoming strings. Other languages probably do the same thing. Anyway, I don't think this would be a problem on my end, it's something I've seen too many times before server side.

EDIT:

One of my other articles, "A Beginner\'s Guide to Search Engine Optimization", is messed up as you can see by the title. Also, the document includes HTML tags because it's an HTML tutorial, these tags aren't displaying right (either as actual HTML or as plain text) in the description.
Celeste Stewart

Re: Technical error -- Text fields escaped with "\" characters

Post by Celeste Stewart »

Hi,