Advice?

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

JuleRomans

Advice?

Post by JuleRomans »

Hello everyone:

I am brand new to CC. I just registered today. So far, I have carefully read the guidelines, examined some sample article postings, and read many of the topics in this forum. I am just wondering what might be the next right thing to do.

Should I set up a simple bio before submitting my first article? Are profile pictures important?

Should I try writing a requested article to begin with? If so, does it make sense to choose a client who has a higher "number" for purchased articles?

I feel fairly clear about the key points in the guidelines: 12 pt Arial or TNR (SS with DS between paragraphs), meticulous editing and proofreading, strong introduction and conclusion, and good summaries (both long and short). I am a little nervous about writing the summaries, but I think that comes more easily after the article is complete. Have I correctly grasped the main goals? Is there anything really big that I have missed before I get started?

I guess my last question is... are there any other really common "newbie" mistakes that tend to cause articles to be rejected?

Thanks for taking time to respond. It's very nice to have a place to ask questions before taking the leap.

--Jule
jennifer

Re: Advice?

Post by jennifer »

I've only been here for 2 months, but I always have to make myself remember to make sure my article is saved in Notepad and uploaded from Notepad in the 12 point font.
ecdoran

Post by ecdoran »

It sounds like you have done your research!