Qualifications of published content.

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

Gouldm80

Qualifications of published content.

Post by Gouldm80 »

I'm a newbie here, so please be patient with me. :) I really appreciate any and all help that you good people could bestow upon me via this forum.
I submitted my first couple of articles to this site and was dismayed to find that the first one was summarily rejected. I recall reading the qualifications for publication and can't seem to remember anything that would have disqualified what I tried to publish. So here I am, looking for some clarification so that I'm not banned from future attempts. I believe that my writing style, punctuation and grammar isn't too noxious, and I'd love to utilize this site to expand my craft and make a few dollars in the process.
The explanation for why my article was rejected reads as follows, "We do not generally consider opinion-based or editorial-style content." Well, my confusion arises from the fact that most of what I've read on this site certainly falls into the category of opinion. Is there really, truly a best way to short sell a house or are any articles that detail that process a matter of opinion? The piece I wrote that was rejected was about why more unions need to be formed by workers in the United States. Was my topic too controversial or too much of a social issue? I don't get it.
I spent a few days researching various online article publishing sites like this one and Associate Content, Helium, etc., and this experience is leaving a bad taste in my mouth. I can certainly see the value of this site and would like to utilize it, but at the same time I have read articles here that have major grammatical flaws replete throughout them. Well, now I just sound like I'm complaining.