Newbie Asks A Question On What Sells

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

jfmalewitz

Newbie Asks A Question On What Sells

Post by jfmalewitz »

I suppose I could just do some research on what sells here, but you guys have been very helpful on the forums. I am still a newbie. More than half my articles submitted have been rejected. But, only one has sold. This was one i sold cheap because it was a reprint. My question is this: What are the top selling markets? I know a lot of family articles sell--or at least I think I know that. I was just curious if a few experts could say the articles they write which usually find a buyer. Like a top 3 or Top 4 topics that sell well. I am willing to do the research. I am a newspaper writer hoping to make the transition to freelance someday, and I realize, and read this a lot, that research is needed for many topics. I'm sorry if I took your time. Any advice would be great. If I can't get rich, could I borrow some of your money just as an advance on my top selling articles? :)
Celeste Stewart

Post by Celeste Stewart »

Hello,

Hot topics vary but many consistant ones as far as I can tell seem to be: lifestyle, real estate, parenting, finance, travel, computers, weddings. . . I'm sure I'm missing a bunch.

Some of these topics are influenced by requests so a spike in a certain topic is often related to a particular request. Last summer do-it-yourself topics were hot because of a certain customer's request for thousands of such articles. This summer, eek, I can't say exactly what's been hot.