Publishing AC content on CC

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

lizardwrites

Publishing AC content on CC

Post by lizardwrites »

I'm new to CC, but I've been writing for Associated Content for about 9 months. I was wondering if any of you out there have put articles you used as "display-only" on AC and tried to sell them for "usage" rights on CC. I guess what I'm really wondering about is this: There are lots of blogs and news sites that pick up stories on AC and post a link to them, so am I crazy to think that someone on CC is going to PAY me to use the link for their website?

Thanks to all! :)
Word Gypsy

Re: Publishing AC content on CC

Post by Word Gypsy »

Hi! As long as your ac articles can pass cc standards, you can post them here for "usage" rights. Many authors have already done so and have had success selling them too. Just make sure that you write a note to Ed in the short summary if your author names are different for the two sites. Good luck and happy writing, WG
Celeste Stewart

Post by Celeste Stewart »

Also, customers are not paying for the link - they are paying for the right to post the article on their website or use it in newsletters. When a customer buys a usage article, the article itself is posted, not a link. You won't get page views or anything like that.
lizardwrites

Post by lizardwrites »

Thanks guys!!! I'm gonna go see if I've got big bucks hiding over there on AC in my display-only pieces!!! :)
Celeste Stewart

You can also resell any upfront payment articles that you sold to AC as non-exclusive. That's the key, "non-exclusive," whether AC paid you or not.
geniuswaitress

Post by geniuswaitress »

Hi! I'm newish too, and I've been posting my Helium and AC content. I've sold 4 or 5 of the articles already for use, so people most definitely ARE willing to pay for gently-used content.