How are words counted?

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

LauraD

How are words counted?

Post by LauraD »

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie; apologies in advance for asking a stupid question. I'd like to know what Constant Content considers to be the way that we should count words in an article. In typing class, we were taught to count the number of characters and divide that by 5. Someone else uses Microsoft Word's built-in word counter, which considers each unique word, long or short, to be equal to one word (it just counts based on the spaces between words). For the articles I'm working on, there can be a 200 or more word difference in word count between these two methods! What are Constant Content and our customers expecting?

Sorry, there was a question similar to this, but no clear answer arose out of the discussion and the topic was closed to new replies/questions.

Thanks in advance for your help! :)
stelle

Re: How are words counted?

Post by stelle »

I use MS Word's count. It would take you ages to count all of the characters on a page! :)
LauraD

Post by LauraD »

Actually, MSWord includes the numbers of characters on the Properties-->Statistics page, also, so it wouldn't take but a second to divide that by 5 (or whatever). Very handy. (It's what I'm used to using, at least.)
Lysis

Post by Lysis »

If you have Word, I would use it as the word counterer. :D